OSU News Research Archive
Search an archive of past research stories.
Coverage of OSU Research
Reports on national news coverage of university research.
Research Communications Staff
Who we are and what we do.

(Last updated 11/30/09)

New Research Blog Available Here!!

NOTE TO PRODUCERS: Ohio State University has opened a new broadcast studio with Vyvx and ISDN technology, allowing us to provide quick connectivity to university researchers.  To schedule an expert, please call Joe Camoriano, (614) 378-6478, camoriano.1@osu.edu.



COLUMBUS, Ohio – Lonnie Thompson, professor of earth sciences and research scientist with the Byrd Polar Research Center at Ohio State University, has been elected as a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

Thompson joins a select few individuals from outside China who have received this honor.  Thompson’s award was “based on your scientific achievement and important contributions to promoting the development of science and technology in China.”

Lonnie Thompson

Photo by Thomas Nash

For several decades, Thompson’s research team has worked closely with scientists from China’s research institutes, on expeditions to ice fields on the Tibetan Plateau and in the Himalayas and on joint research studies.

“The partnership with our Chinese colleagues is just one more reminder that science is an international pursuit and that the problems we face will require cooperation bridging national boundaries,” Thompson said.

In submitting Thompson’s name for membership, Professor Tandong Yao, director of the Institute of Tibetan Plateau Research, wrote, "Your election is a confirmation of your worldwide, acknowledged contribution to science," adding that the Chinese Academy’s 419 members voted on Thompson’s nomination.

His election to the Chinese Academy of Sciences is only the latest in a long line of honors Thompson has received for his work.  He and his wife and research partner, Ellen Mosley-Thompson, are both members of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and in 2007, he was chosen to receive the National Medal of Science from then-president George W. Bush.


Contact: Lonnie Thompson, (614) 292-6652; thompson.3@osu.eduWritten by Earle Holland, (614) 292-8384; Holland.8@osu.edu.